In this blog post, I ask fellow Gator and friend Jared Machado what it is like to be a student at UF. Below is a transcript of our conversation (which was edited for flow and clarity).

 

Q: What did it feel like to be accepted to UF as part of the class of 2020?

A: When I was being accepted, I was on the phone with a friend of mine, Robert Gutierrez. He was kind of guiding me through the process, because I didn’t know how to open [the admission portal] up at first.

This was my first choice, and I always wanted to come here – from freshman year in high school. This would have been a dream for me, if I got in. When he was guiding me through the process of trying to find out if I got in or not, I immediately saw “Congratulations” on my computer and I jumped up – I was screaming through the house. I was with my Dad, and I cried a little bit about getting in here, because it was a very emotional day for me. I didn’t know if I was going to get in and, to be accepted by your dream school – it’s a good feeling.

 

Q: What are you planning in majoring in, and what do you plan to pursue as a career?

A: I am currently majoring in Political Science, in the Liberal Arts and Sciences College, and I hope to pursue a career in Constitutional law and one day run for public office. And I am also in the pre-law track, so my next step is law school.

 

Q: What exactly does Constitutional law entail?

A: I would either work for the Supreme Court of a state, such as Florida, or for the supreme court of the federal government. My job, specifically, [would be] to take on cases regarding constitutional penalties or infringement rights of the constitution, or cases dealing with new proposed legislation (on whether it’s Constitutional or not). So I would be hired by the state or federal government to determine whether these cases are constitutionally accepted.

 

Q: Do you feel that the classes you are taking now are preparing you for that goal?

A: Absolutely. One class that has really interested me this semester is Political Change and Legal Development. It has to do all about politics and its involvement in the legal system, which relates specifically to what I want to do in the future. And the teachers here are so helpful, it really helps broaden my range and develop a greater sense of knowledge, regarding my field of study. The environment in the classroom is amazing, I get to actually talk to some of the other students here at UF, learn their views, and – the learning community here is just unbelievable.

 

Q: Do you feel that the community itself fosters knowledge and learning?

A: I think that the majority of the knowledge that I have gained here had to do with the community – my other classmates. I believe that the best way to learn is to talk to other people. Learn their views, because you never know what another person is thinking. You never know what their knowledge is, and for them to share that with you, it opens you up. Maybe it reaffirms your views, or it could change your views in the other direction. So I think that the community here has really helped me learn more about what I want to do with my life in the future.

 

Q: What are some clubs and organizations on campus that you’re proud to be a part of, and that have contributed to your overall experience?

A: I am part of Murphree Area Council. It is the [residential] area government that I work for, and I live in Murphree Area. We are tasked with setting up events for the community, getting out there and learning about the community, knowing the people there – really helping out around the area. I actually have an interview this Thursday for the President position in the [residential] area’s government, so I am excited about that.

I am also part of the Cuban-American Student Association on campus. I am the vice president of operations for the organization; we [work to] foster a community beyond just being a Florida Gator, but [of also] being a Cuban on this campus. Which I think is very important coming from my heritage, my culture and my background. I think that’s important for me to express on campus, [as well as for all] the other Cubans to express on campus. We are part of the Hispanic Student Association, so there are clubs for every culture – which I think is very important on campus, and I am happy to be involved in that as well.

 

Q: Let’s switch gears a little bit. What are some of your favorite traditions at UF?

A: Okay. Traditions at UF. Well, I would love to stray off of the Football games, which is a big tradition in itself. A tradition apart from that would be walking the lawn near the Reitz [Student Union], having that time – you know, walking the campus itself is a tradition. I believe it will blow away anyone that comes on campus – for the next year, for the following years, and for past students. That is my favorite tradition in itself, just walking the campus with my fellow classmates, with my fellow Gators.

Apart from that, there are the Football games. We have a huge sports community here, and it gets emotional. I remember when we were in the Elite Eight of [the NCAA] March Madness [college basketball tournament], we went crazy to support the Gators. And it was really emotional when we didn’t end up advancing to the next round. I never thought I could be that emotional for a sports team until I got on campus, and that’s just a tradition everyone will experience when they get on campus.

 

Q: Aside from those we talked about, are there any traditions that you yourself may have created, or that you share with your roommate and look forward to?

A: Something recently with my roommate, that I really appreciate and I am still learning to get used to, is – every night, Ben Hill Griffin Stadium is open for the students to use. So we go every night to work out there by running the stadium stairs. When you have a stadium like that open to you, what’s better than that? That environment is amazing. Sometimes I just want to go in there at night and sit down – it’s a great place to think. And it’s such a beautiful place with so many memories that I really appreciate. And the fact that I get to work out there and get my mind off things – it’s amazing, and I learned to appreciate that. And I thank my roommate for showing me that.

 

Q: I there anything else you’d like to leave the readers with?

A: This year has definitely been better than what I expected. I was scared, at the beginning, of starting college, but the community that I live in – it’s unbelievable, it’s incredible. When you get here, you know. You’re going to experience something beyond what you have ever experienced before, and it’s going to be great.

So to all future gators and those deciding to come here: I would say this has been one of the best years of my life. And – I love it, Go Gators!